Saturday, April 02, 2005

Mass for Holy Father Announced; General Congregation of Cardinals to be Held on Monday

I just received a Vatican Information Service Special Edition brief in my Inbox. Here are the important bits:

"Tomorrow, Divine Mercy Sunday, at 10.30 a.m., a Mass for the repose of the soul of the Holy Father will be celebrated in St. Peter's Square, presided over by Cardinal Angelo Sodano.

"At 12 noon, the Marian prayer of Easter time, the Regina Coeli, will be recited.

"The body of the late pontiff is expected to be brought to the Vatican Basilica no earlier than Monday afternoon.

"The first General Congregation of Cardinals will be held at 10 a.m. on Monday April 4 in the Bologna Hall of the Apostolic Palace."

It's all official, straight from the Holy See Press Office Director Joaquin Navarro-Valls.

Please note that daylight savings time begins in North America Sunday morning at 2:00 a.m. At this time, clocks will move ahead one hour. At the time the Mass is scheduled to begin, the Eastern and Central time zones will have moved forward one hour. But times zones west of this will not have done so yet. Therefore, the 10:30 a.m. CET start time in Rome corresponds to 4:30 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time and 3:30 a.m. Central Daylight Time, but 1:30 a.m. Mountain Standard Time and 12:30 a.m. Pacific Standard Time. Confusing, but I hope that clears things up a bit!


minkey jung said...

hello. thank you for making this blog. although i have been very emotional these days ive been very mean to some people. i hope god forgives me for that. i can't believe our pope is gone. may he rest in peace.

Matthew said...

Goodbye, Pope John Paul II. Thank you for your love, holiness and example. Your life was a gift from God and we will always remember you and your smile. Rest in God's hug, you are free from your ailing body and must be so happy to be with Jesus and your family. Goodbye, God bless and always pray for us.

Thas Veloso said...

Radical Brazilian cardinal leads succession race.

>>,,1-523-1552381,00.html said...

God Bless the Pope, he was and always will be known as a great man of peace and love.

Sharon said...

Let there be groundswell of common people, Catholics, Protestants, Jews, Muslims and people of other religious faiths today, to declare John Paul the Great a Saint by acclamation. The Congregation for the Cause of Saints need not wait five years to begin an investigation into his life and search for two miracles that can be attributed to him. His miracles are manifest. He was a Living Saint among us and his miracles are legion.
Let the thousands of pilgrims in St. Peter's Square chant "Saint John Paul, pray for us".

Brothers and Sisters in Christ